Economic Society of Singapore

Shareholder Value: Corporate Governance, Boards & CEOs

ESS Annual Dinner 2005 & MAS-ESS Essay Competition Award Ceremony – “Shareholder Value: Corporate Governance, Boards & CEOs”)

In recent times, there has been a series of high profile corporate scandals involving companies such as Enron, Parmalat, WorldCom, and closer to home, China Aviation Oil. Not surprisingly, corporate governance has emerged as an issue of great concern to investors, regulators, and policy makers all over the world. Here in Singapore, our corporate governance framework are being actively revamped and updated to bring them in line with international practices. However, this is a tough balancing act as we need to take into account local circumstances and the interests of different stakeholders.

This year, the ESS had the pleasure of inviting Ms Ho Ching, Executive Director & CEO of Temasek Holdings, to share her views on corporate governance in Singapore at the Annual Dinner.Amongst the 800 guests who attended were DBS’s CFO Ms Jeanette Wong, Standard Chartered Bank’s CEO Ms Euleen Goh, NOL’s Group President & CEO Mr David Lim, SGX’s Head of Risk Management & Regulations Ms Yeo Lian Sim, Deutsche Bank’s Chief Country Officer & General Manager Mr Ronny Tan and CapitaLand’s President & CEO Mr Liew Mun Leong.Click here to download Ms Ho Ching’s speech on “Shareholder Value: Corporate Governance, Boards & CEOs” .  


For information on the 2004 MAS-ESS Essay Competition Award Ceremony, click hereAbout the ESS Annual DinnerWith a history that span over a decade, the ESS Annual Dinner is one of the key events organized by the Society for both its members and the public alike. A non-for-profit organization, the Annual Dinner provides an opportunity for the ESS to raise funds and generate awareness for its upcoming activities.A high profile event, the Annual Dinner is known for its distinguished Guests-of-Honour. Previous Guests-of-Honour include:


  • Mr. Lee Hsien Loong (Prime Minister and Minister for Finance)
  • Mr. Goh Chok Tong (Senior Minister, Prime Minister’s Office)
  • Dr. Tony Tan Keng Yam (Deputy Prime Minister and Co-ordinating Minister for Security and Defence, Prime Minister’s Office)
  • Mr. Lim Boon Heng (Minister, Prime Minister Office)
  • Dr. Goh Keng Swee
  • Mr. S Rajaratnam
  • Datuk Seri, Dr. Mahathir Mohammed
  • Professor Wassily Leontief
  • Professor Charles Schultze
  • Mr. Ong Teng Cheong
  • Mr. Toyo Gyohten
  • Mr. Karl Otto Pohl
  • Mr. Lim Boon Heng
  • Dr. Richard Hu
  • Mr. Lee Yock Suan

Well attended by C-Level executives, the who’s who of the finance and corporate sector, policy makers, economists, businessmen, academics and members of the ESS, the Annual Dinner provides an excellent networking platform and opportunity for the exchange of ideas on current economic trends.The ESS appreciates the continuous support from individuals and corporations for its activities. Your generosity and support will greatly assist our efforts in organising various events planned for the year, including a series of luncheon talks and education workshops.To find out more about supporting the ESS, click here.