Economic Society of Singapore

44th Federation of ASEAN Economic Associations (FAEA) Conference

The Economic Society of Singapore (ESS) hosted the 44th Federation of ASEAN Economic Associations (FAEA) Conference on 29-30 November 2019 held at Singapore Exchange Centre 1. The FAEA comprise the economic association of 9 ASEAN Countries-Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, and the Philippines with Brunei and Myanmar recently joining the fold. The FAEA endeavours to provide useful inputs to economic development of the region. Each year, the member associations take turn to host a conference where member delegates, researchers, policymakers and the industry can exchange ideas on the topical issues in the region.


The theme of this year’s Conference is “The New ASEAN Economy”. The Conference kicked off with:


Opening Remarks

Professor Euston Quah

President, ESS

Please click here to download the Opening Remarks

Panel Discussion: Southeast Asia and the Future of Regional Economic Cooperation



Dr. Francis Hutchinson (ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute)



Professor Shujiro Urata (Waseda University, Japan)

Dr Jayant Menon (Asian Development Bank, Philippines)

Dr. Lili Yan Ing (Ministry of Trade, Republic of Indonesia)

Talk by:


Ms Tan Bin Ru

Chief Executive Officer

One Connect, Financial Technology

Panel Discussion: The Future of Fintech in the ASEAN economy



Dr. Ernie Teo (JEDTrade)



Mr Mark Fuentes (Cyber Operations-Horangi)

Ms Tan Bi Ru (OneConnect)


Plenary Session: The Future of Southeast Asias Automotive Sector



Dr. Tham Siew Yean (Yusof Ishak Institute)



Professor Gregory Noble (University of Tokyo, Japan)

Dr. Moekti P. Soejachmoen (PT Dareksa, Indonesia)

Professor Patarapong Intarakumnerd (National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, Japan)

FAEA Presidential Meeting

(Official Delegates of FAEA Member Societies/Associations

Parallel Sessions
Income Mobility
Macroeconomy 1
Money and Banking 1
Trade 1
30 November
Special Singapore Economic Review (SER) Invited Speaker


Professor Naoyuki Yoshino

Dean, ADBI

Keio University, Professor Emeritus


Please click here for presentation slides.

Plenary Session: Competition in the ASEAN Region




Dr Tan Hi Lin (Competition and Consumer Commission of Singapore)




Ms Nimisha Tailor (Former Director, Policy Markets-CCCS, Member of ESS and ACA)

Mr Ng Jia Le (Competition and Consumer Commission of Singapore)

Mr Danilo Lorenzo Atanacio and Ms Cara Latinazo (Philippine Competition Commission)

Parallel Sessions
Money and Banking 2
Macroeconomy 2
Trade 2
Labour and Education

For more photos click here.