The annual awards were launched by the Economic Society of Singapore in collaboration with MOE sponsored by World Scientific in 2016.  The 2017 Outstanding Economics Teacher Award went to Mr Haniss B Ali, senior teacher for economics at Nanyang Junior College, and Mr Khoo Gee Hwee, lead teacher of economics at Pioneer Junior College. They are both aged 51 years.

The interview panel, comprising representatives from ESS and MOE, considered the contributions made by the nominees in the following areas: (1) Passion for and Mastery of Economics; (2) Pedagogy & Assessment; (3) Student Development and (4) Professional Development. The panel was impressed with their high level of professionalism, teaching ability and economics knowledge that all the nominated and shortlisted teachers exhibited.

The OETA 2017 presentation award was held at the Regent Singapore Royal pavilion.

(Left Photo) Mr Khoo Gee Hwee , lead teacher of Economics at Pioneer Junior College (OETA Winner 2017)
(Left Photo) Mr Haniss B Ali, senior teacher of Economics at Nanyang Junior College (OETA Winner 2017)
(From Left to Right photo) Mr Kho Ghee Wee, Prof Euston Quah, Minister Iswaran, and Mr Haniss B Ali