Annually since 2016, Economic Society of Singapore (ESS) has been giving out up to two awards to our Economics teachers for the Outstanding Economics Teacher Award (OETA). Nominations are invited from secondary schools, junior colleges/centralised institute and other schools offering Economics. The 2 winners will each receive $2000 for professional development. The awards are also supported by Ministry of Education (MOE) and sponsored by World Scientific Publishing Co. Ltd.

In this third year of the OETA, ESS received 93 nominations for 32 teachers from 12 schools in July 2018. 9 nominees were shortlisted for an interview in August. The interview panel, comprising representatives from ESS and MOE, considered the contributions made by the nominees in the following areas: (1) Passion for and Mastery of Economics; (2) Pedagogy & Assessment; (3) Student Development and (4) Professional Development, and selected 2 winners and 3 finalists.

The interview panel was impressed with the outstanding level of dedication and commitment of the award winners, finalists and nominees towards the teaching and learning of Economics in Singapore. The Economics teachers are well-read, passionate and show a high level of commitment towards teaching the subject; skillfully use a variety of pedagogy, effective assessment methods and ICT to engage students in the learning of Economics; understand students’ diverse needs and abilities, are able to motivate and inspire students, believe strongly in continual professional development and contribute actively to the professional development and growth of other teachers.

OETA Winner: Mr Toh Jin Tian (center)
Head of Department (Economics) , Tampines Junior College (TPJC)
OETA Winner: Mr Chu Hian Meng (Center)
Head of Department (Economics), Pioneer Junior College (PJC)
(Photo from left-right)
Prof Euston Quah
Ms Jenny Wang Jing Wei, Hwa Chong Institution (HCI), OETA 2018 finalist
Ms Fiona Lio Su-Yin, Raffles Institution (RI), OETA 2018 finalist
Minister Chan Chun Sing,
Mr Matthew Chua Soo Jin, Victoria Junior College (VJC), ) OETA 2018 finalist